Just To Please You

After the urgency of their 2021 album, Emergency to Emergency, and its pandemic-soaked mania, indie-folkestra, The Gertrudes have mellowed. Somewhat.

The band’s 2023 release, Just to Please You, (August 18th, Wolfe Island Records / Outside Music Canada) is their first full length album collaboration with Neptune’s Machine producer Jason Mercer (Ani DiFranco, Ron Sexsmith). Mercer taped his minimalist sensitivities onto The Gertrudes’ high-octane thunderstorm that results in blending the band’s classic indie-folk-rock-experimental vibe into a soundscape that’s more of a refined martini than craft beer, more organic farm than community garden. Equal parts silly and serious, this band (including next generation Gertrudes: Arden Rogalsky (drums), George Tilson (vocals), August Erb (electric guitar)and Astrid Erb (vocals) — Matt, Greg & Annie, and Jason’s kids respectively) continues to write hopeful and hyper-local songs for and about their community.

Sold By: Wolfe Island Records



The Gertrudes’ sound and lyrics have always paid homage to their beloved Skeleton Park neighbourhood, just north of downtown Kingston, where most of the band live, host the popular Skeleton Park Arts Festival & Concert Series, publish The Skeleton Press newspaper, and exhibit adventurous public art in local yards, parks, schools, churches and cafes.

Taking inspiration from artists like Wilco and The National, The Gertrudes knit together a sound like an old-time saloon party travelling through deep space. Just to Please You follows four full length albums and extensive touring across the country, including memorable performances like at the Vancouver Folk Festival and the Halifax Pop Explosion. The Gertrudes have shared the stage with artists like Sarah Harmer, Calexico, and Ricky Skaggs.


Released August 18, 2023


Meghan Balogh: fiddle, vocals

Pete Bowers: drums

Annie Clifford: fiddle, vocals

August Erb: electric guitar

Jason Erb: keys, bass, vocals

Mariah (Mo) Horner: vocals

Josh Lyon: accordion, keys, bass

Matt Rogalsky: electric guitar, vocals

Greg Tilson: acoustic guitar, vocals

Produced by Jason Mercer (jasonmercer67.com) and The Gertrudes. Additional recordings by Matt Rogalsky (Memory Device). Mastering by Sandro Perri (sandroperri.com).

Art by Julie Davidson Smith

Design by Vincent Perez